In honor of longtime Kansas I-70 Association member Leilani Thomas, the association has established a scholarship. High school seniors who reside in any one of our 17 Kansas I-70 communities are eligible for the scholarship.  Our 17 communities are: Goodland, Colby, Oakley, WaKeeney, Hays, Russell, Salina, Abilene, Junction City, Manhattan, Topeka, Lecompton, Lawrence, Bonner Springs, Leavenworth, Shawnee, and Kansas City Kansas.

Scholarship Requirements:

The scholarship will be distributed to the winning students during their first year of enrollment in an accredited two-or four-year college, university, or technical college.  The school in which they are attending must be within the state of Kansas.  The school must submit verification of enrollment and a declared major.  The student is responsible for ensuring this verification is submitted.  Kansas I-70 Association will pay $500 for the fall semester and $500 for the spring semester in the second year of the student’s enrollment.

Application Process:

Complete the attached application from  Obtain your most recent transcript with at least the last seven semesters of high school.  Mail your application and transcript to:

Scholarship Committee
Kansas I-70 Association
350 S. Range, Suite 10
Colby, KS  67701

The application deadline is: April 15, 202

Leilani Thomas Scholarship Application 2023